The International Aromatic Wine Competition, now in its thirteenth year, focuses on aromatic wines including Riesling, Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Gris, Gewürztraminer, Viognier and other wine varieties including Muscat, Verdeldo, Arneis, Red, Rose and Sauvignon Gris, made in an aromatic style from any internationally recognised region. The purpose of the competition is to highlight to consumers the best aromatic wine varieties available in the New Zealand market for the wine drinker. 

Brightwater Vineyards 2014 Nelson Pinot Noir was the only Pinot Noir to be awarded a Gold Medal. This follows on from the Gold Medal the same wine received at the Spiegelau International Wine Competition in July and the Pure Gold Medal awarded to the same wine at the Bragato Wine Awards in August. “We are extremely pleased with these results.” said Gary Neale of Brightwater Vineyards. “It is very rare for a wine to be awarded three gold medals from three different wine shows. We have had wines that have received two gold medals before but this is the first wine to receive three."

Aronui Single Vineyard Nelson Pinot Gris 2015 was also awarded a Gold Medal which follows on from the 2014 vintage being awarded four gold medals and five star reviews. 

For full results please click here.